Day 6

Standard

Back to work today.

Because of the random nap I took at 7pm last night, I was up until about 1:30am. Only to be crawling (very slowly) out of bed at 6:30am. Never mind that I’m supposed to be at work at 7am…

But surprisingly, I didn’t drag all day like in the past.

I was actually surprised.

One of the things I try to do on my break at work is dig in the word. I feel it be far more productive than my checking Facebook over and over… Even though I am tempted. Instead I head over to #SheReadsTruth.

Today, I ran across this quote:
If you don’t feel strong desires for the manifestation of the glory of God, it is not because you have drunk deeply satisfied. It is because you have nibbled so long at the table of the world. Your soul is stuffed with small things, and there is no room for the great. -John Piper, A Hunger for God

Wow.

It went on to say how we are being weaned during this season of Lent and our longings are changing.

It is so true.

My desires are changing.

The Lord takes extreme circumstances in our life to awaken us to our need for our Savior… Fasting awakens that need.

Wow.

Fasting isn’t about pain. Sure, I may think it’s painful to pass on dessert… But that’s nothing like the pain my Savior endured.

Fasting is about removing sin from our lives. It’s hard to believe I had let something as a basic everyday need become the biggest source of sin in my life.

Food had taken priority in my life.

No more.

I am proud to say, that by 10pm, my house is spotless, both cars are spotless, I played outside with my daughter and worked out for 45 minutes today. That doesn’t count my 3 walk breaks I took at work.

I am still amazed by my energy level.

Truly amazed.

“Blessed are you who are hungry, for you shall be satisfied.” -Luke 6:21

Leave a Reply

